Tags

, , ,

Another short except from Along the Watchtower. This picks up almost directly from the piece I posted last week. However, the tone is almost completely different. This is a more traditional 1st person narrative.

I’m not sure I like the results. The previous excerpt captured… something. A quality I want in this book. Now I just need to find it again.

Everybody wants to know the end. That’s why we pick up the story. We tell ourselves we want to know how it’s all going to end. But that’s not why we really read the story. It’s for the details. We want to know why things happen. We want to know the agonizing detail. Point by point, blow-by-blow. These are what matter.

 

So you want to know how this ends? I’ll tell you how. Me, locked in a cell with no doors. No light. No friends.

 

Everyone wants to know how things turn out. Everyone wants to know the future. All the data in all the world and we still can’t predict the weather. Not that it is doesn’t stop people from trying. So here’s what I’m going to do. I’ll tell you the future. I’m going to tell you even before you know the beginning.

 

In the end, we are all dead. Every single one. Six corpses, seven dead, one still breathing. I guess you could say this is the story of how that went down. Except I’m not sure what the story is or where it’s headed. I can spout facts all day long and it wouldn’t make a difference.

 

Would not make a difference. That’s what I tell myself. The only thing I can tell myself.

