Tags

, , ,

Word of the Day.

Let’s call it a new project. Yes, I know, there are plenty of “word of the day” apps and posts floating around but so many of them are drab and unexciting. The definition of “bookworm” or “pedantic” or “existential”? Really? That’s what they’re trying to give me?

No! I refuse. I want something more. Something fun and whimsical. Words I’ve never dreamed exist. Words that light a fire under my imagination and paint pictures.

Petrichor – /ˈpeˌtrīkôr/ – noun – a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather.

Sigil /ˈsijəl/ – noun – an inscribed or painted symbol considered to have magical power.

Saeculum -/ˈsae.ku.lum/ – noun – a length of time roughly equal to the potential lifetime of a person or the equivalent of the complete renewal of a human population. The term was first used by the Etruscans.

Interesting words.

I have no interest in common synonyms or common words. The English language [according to the 2nd Ed Oxford English Dictionary] contains 171,476 active words with 47,156 obsolete words. That’s more than enough to find some interesting words. The average native English speaker knows between 20,000-35,000 words. That leaves over 150,000 words we can learn. Even if we did a “word of the hour” that’s not enough time.

And just how (I hear no one asking) am I going to find such outlandish and inspiring words? If they’re words so obscure that I can’t even imagine their existence, how shall I discover them.  It’s a plan so outrageous I can’t fathom how I imagined it. I’m going to sit down in a chair on a Saturday and read the dictionary. Done. Also, highlight words in books or comics that I don’t recognize.

I will post daily here and on twitter at 9am.

