Tags

,

Note: Not fanfiction about Wally West (the One-True Flash). The other thing.

I used to think flash fiction was hard. Or at least very nearly impossible. Back in 2008 I took a college course of the art of the short story. I couldn’t imagine anything so short being complete.

I’d like to give it a shot. And, who knows, I might be horrible. In the words of President Josiah Bartlett:

 In my house, anyone who uses one word when they could have used ten just isn’t trying hard.

It’s not a different skill set, exactly. Leading the reader with words and building a world filled with it’s own implied history.

Now I know it’s entirely possible. Sometimes, 500 words is too long (way too long). The ideas, the flash points are easy enough. The difficultly lies in connecting those thoughts efficiently and without losing steam.

But, you know, it still has to follow all the same rules. A beginning, a middle, and an end. Still, even with that, it doesn’t have to encompass 3 complete sentences.

The concept that every word matters, truly matters, is quite appealing.

