1-10 just doesn’t cut it. It doesn’t tell you if the story is good or the grammar is unbearable but I still can’t put the book down. And, it’s subjective masquerading as objective.

In a better system, the ratings would reflect the subjectivity of the book. Some books, while technically fascinating might just not grab my attention and call me back during my free time. Others might force me to turn pages until I’m finished, even if I know that significant flaws exist.

I’m still working the details, but I think it would end up being categorized as follows:

  1. Transcendent Level: The perfect book. Everything from pacing to characters to word choice all fit. No plot holes, no odd grammar issues. Everything is tight from beginning to end. (The Count Of Monte Christo, The Time Traveler’s Wife)
  2. Clear Your Calendar: This is a book that I simply can’t put down. Despite whatever flaws it contains, they can be overlooked for the sake of the story. I found it to be gripping. (The Magician Trilogy)
  3. Good for A Rainy Day: A quick read. Nothing too remarkable but a good time is had by all when reading. Best read when it’s a rainy day or you have nothing better to do.
  4. Did I Read That?: A book that’s so forgettable you won’t even remember reading it in a week. It’s not horrible. It’s not great. But unremarkable might just be a worse sin. (City Of Bones or much of the Star Trek Relaunch)
  5. Kindling for a Fire: This book is garbage. Don’t bother picking it up. It has no redeeming qualities other than to start fires after it’s been put through a shredder. Forests have been razed needlessly to print this crap. (Think Twilight or The Christmas Kiss)

Oh geez, do I need better, catchier category names.

