Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Looking back at my “most anticipated” list from 2014, I’m kind of shocked by how little I actually managed to accomplish. Too many other things kept popping up. I do love my excuses. Some, I chose not to pursue because it effected my writing too much (gotta love those research books) and others I… well, have no good reason for, actually.

All that being said, here are my top 10 stories that I’m looking forward to in 2015.

The LIST of TEN

  1. Outlanders series: Yes, this is my priority for 2015. I’m embarrassed that I started it, badly wanted to pick it up and then never did again. I feel like the potential for how amazing it is keeps psyching me out.
  2. Avengers – Age of Ultron: I love comics. They are an amazing visual medium for epic stories without the practicalities of budgets. Marvels cinematic universe is a stunning realization of this.
  3. Digimon Adventure tri 2015: I love Digimon Adventure. It is one of my favorite shows of all time. Now it’s returning for it’s 15th anniversary with a whole new season, starring the original Chosen. And, the preview poster makes the animation seem sweet.
  4. Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion: I was reading this book when I suddenly stopped because I realized it had sort of taken over my life. The style of this and The Information by James Gleick, just took over my writing style, exerting too much influence. I realized this when I saw my chapters being bogged down with technobabble for the sake of technobabble. Still, the practical applications and implications are staggering and boundless. I need to finish this.
  5. Sandman Overture: This gorgeous comic book is written by Neil Gaiman and drawn by JH Williams III. While originally scheduled for bimonthly production, 2014 only saw three issues published (the 1st saw publication in late 2013). However, the art and the writing make this worth the wait.
  6. Star Wars – Episode VII: While I’m not geeking out like some of my friends, this is definitely a movie I’m curious about.
  7. Star Trek – New Frontier book: It’s unnamed but it’s the first new New Frontier book in years. I love this series. Hopefully, it comes out in June as is currently rumored.
  8. Star Wars – Thawn Trilogy: I’ve been meaning to tackle the Star Wars extended universe (now officially called Legends) for some time now, and if I do end up having hand surgery (again) I’ll have some spare time on my… um… hands. But, this book series has come via the recommendation of John Campea (who I don’t know personally, but love his show: AMC Movie Talk). Not sure there’s a better movie geek team out there.
  9. The Elemental Masters: Written by Mercedes Lackey, this is a series that I have meant to read for a while. For those who don’t know (and there’s no reason any one should) I have only ever read the first book in this series, The Fire Rose. I was 12. This book, more than any other, shaped the way I view magic and the rules that applied to it. So, it’s time I read the rest of the series.
  10. Hickman’s Avengers [conclusion]: Hickman’s run on Avengers made my list for the most anticipated for 2014. It has not disappointed me. His ability to gather mindbending tales of space and time into a narrative together with the greatest heroes the Marvel Universe has ever known is both captivating and awe-inspiring. In 2015 his epic multi-year run on Avengers is set to end in an event known as Secret Wars. Maybe it’ll suck and maybe it’ll fall victim to the flaws of other Marvel events, but I hope not. Either way, I’m excitedly looking forward to it.

Obviously, this list is subject to change. In this, I mean that I may or may not get to read all of this. Certainly, stories that I have no knowledge of will crop up and take my time. Additionally, these are not just books or movies, so that should be considered as well.

What are your most anticipated stories for 2015? What blew your mind in 2014?

Some quick thoughts on things: All the books I read in 2014.

  1. Star Trek – [the Fall 01] – Revelation and Dust – David R. George III
  2. Star Trek – [the Fall 02] – The Crimson Shadow – James Swallow
  3. Star Trek – [the Fall 03] – A Ceremony of Losses – David Mack
  4. Star Trek – [the Fall 04] – The Poisoned Chalice – James Swallow
  5. Star Trek – [the Fall 05] – Peaceable Kingdoms – Dayton Ward
  6. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
  7. Star Trek Titan – 08 – Absent Enemies – John Jackson Miller
  8. Star Trek Voyager – Relaunch 09 – Protectors – Kirstin Beyer
  9. All You Need is Kill
  10. Star Trek TNG – Relaunch 12 – The Light Fantastic
  11. Grossman, Lev – [The Magicians 01] – The Magicians
  12. Grossman, Lev – [The Magicians 02] – The Magician King
  13. Grossman, Lev – [The Magicians 03] – The Magician’s Land
  14. Star Trek Voyager – Relaunch 10 – Acts of Contrition – Kirstin Beyer
  15. The Screech Owls – the Boston Breakout by Roy MacGregor
  16. The Therions by Esme Autumns
  17. Futures Near and Far by Dave Smeds
  18. Star Trek: DS9 – Section 31 – Disavowed

 

