Tags

, , , ,

I’m writing this blog post from inside a lion… And it’s rather dark in here.

Sorry about that. As I’m doing this I can’t help but think of the Shel Silverstein poem, It’s Dark In Here. Does anybody else know it?

Okay to the point. I’m actually writing this blog post using Dragon NaturallySpeaking’s voice dictation software. I’m still getting used to the software, so things are going to be a bit patchy at best, but I want to share that that’s what I was doing. (As result some of these lines aren’t going to be as accurate as I might otherwise like them to be, but I’m hoping that’ll change as I get use the software and does the software gets used to me).

Voice dictation software is definitely different than regular typing. For one thing, it feels like I’m constantly holding my breath or exhaling. I don’t realize what I reached the end of the thought or one I’m actually out of breath. I think it’s that I’m afraid that the dictation software will realize that I’m not speaking or articulating properly. Actually big part of his animal friends gonna pick up my breathing um … And I don’t really know to do about that.

I’m not sure if this is going to be faster or more efficient, I’m still learning the ropes. I’m sure that as I understand the grammar rules and the voice commands this will all become a lot easier. Certainly, it’s not nearly as painful to speak this blog post as it is to type it. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but it is a fairly big part of my life, and that I have what I assume to be and has been diagnosed as carpal tunnel.

Part of what I’m noticing is that as I write rather speak, this out I have to be more aware of the words on choosing… And I tend to make less mistakes as that happens in terms of what I’m actually writing… If nothing else, I’m certainly going get much better about my grammar skills in knowing which punctuations to use where and what they’re called. Also I have to learn to trust the speed of the dictation software right now I haven’t figure out the limits. When I do figure them out, I’m sort of freedom that have missed grammar and punctuation. And that is something is going to have to change as I grow more accustomed to the software.

Sorry, about that. Feeling using this voice software is going to be a learning process. Especially fighting the professionalism that I try to put in my writing on this blog. Certainly, it’s going to affect the style with which my posts are written. There’s a lot more my rambling voice in this. Sort of like a podcast.

Well, here’s to learning.

Has anybody else ever thought about using voice dictation software? If how you found experience? If you tried it, have you kept with it or given up? What bothers you about voice dictation? What are its greatest strengths? Has it helped?

