Tags

, , ,

There are different types of writing. Wait, hold on, that seems strange, right, considering this is a blog about writing, but stay with me.

I’ve been thinking about this for a few days. This started because a friend of mine recently got a new job, where he blogs for the Seattle Mariners SBNation blog, Lookout Landing. He mentioned that one of the reasons he took the job was to learn how to write on a deadline, something he felt he could improve at.

For myself, I realized that there are three main types of writing that I currently do.

  1. Creative Writing. This one is seems obvious. I mean, I write a blog about my journey as I attempt to publish my own novel. These are the creative sparks that come to me.
  2. Revisions. These is a refinement technique. I’m doing more and more drafts of a work that I’ve already created. Not as much raw creativity involved. I’m taking an idea and distilling it down.
  3. Blogging. Perhaps the most professional of the three. This one requires me to articulate ideas that I think about all the time and put them in words that others will understand. This is also writing with a deadline. Not so much about creativity as it is about effective communication (though one could argue all of these are about effective communication).

See, I was having trouble at first because Creative Writing and Revisions are so intertwined at this point. Creativity is definitely involved in Revisions. It has to be. In order to find the weaknesses in the original draft, some times that requires rebuilding an idea into something new. But, the thing is, even if all the words are different, the ideas haven’t changed. And that’s the key difference. As much of an overhaul as chapter 13 (now, thankfully, completed as of this post) required, the premise of the chapter didn’t change.

  • Creative writing involves raw creativity, putting all the ideas I have on the page, even in the roughest form.
  • Revisions is refining those words and putting the best, most cohesive vision forward.
  • Blogging is about keeping a schedule and being timely.

Each is important, teaching me different skills involved in the writing process. Hopefully, I’ll get better at all three. Which leads me to another thought: when I count words and time writing, how much of it is actually creative? How much is revision? I have a feeling that I wouldn’t like the answer to that question.

What types of writing do you do? How much of your writing is actually creative writing and how much is your blog or revisions?

