Tags

, ,

Thank you to HowIBeatTheOdds for the the nomination for the Leibster award. Here are the answers to her questions and then, as protocol dictates, the additional questions. I’m not sure I have anyone to nominate, because most people I read seem to have plenty of followers but let’s give this all a shot, because it’s fun and that’s really the point.

Here’s the rules for this awesome honor:

1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

How I Beat the Odds Questions:

1. If one movie could describe your life – what is it? What are the elements of this movie that remind you of yourself?

5 Centimeters Per Second. This movie is about the distant past and relationships we’ve lost and can’t move forward from. The transient nature of friendship and the people you love, and how often we can’t really move on from these moments in time, no matter how hard we try or how much we want. It’s also the beauty in the world that we’re often missing and the people that admire us from afar that we never notice, even as we watch others and never tell them what we really think.

2. What are your biggest pet peeves and how do you react when faced with them?

Chewing in my hear. The noise of someone chewing. My brother and I share this one.  I normally try and hope there’s another noise present but if it’s just chewing and silence, I tend to lose my cool and get irritated. Not the best results, but it’s honest.

3. What is your favorite day of the year and why? What do you do on that day that makes it special?

I don’t have a favorite day of the year. Honestly, they all mean about the same to me. New Years is just another night, my birthday is just another day. Maybe my anniversary, but I don’t know because that’s mostly for someone else?

4. What is your biggest dream you are still striving for?

I want to become an author with the ability to support myself with my writing.

5. If you could travel back in time – what era would you want to live in or experience? Why?

It’s not the time travel that interests me so much, because I’m fairly content with the time I live in now. I’m not sure I’m cut out for any thing set in the past, because my expectations of the harsher conditions aren’t idealized. The future or another universe, that intrigues me more.

6. Who is it that inspires you the most – famous, or close, anybody – and what is your message for them?

Inspires… high standards… My father is at the top of that, but that’s kind of cheating. I like cheating. No, but if we push that and make it harder, because that’s more interesting, let’s go with Keith Law. He

7. What would you do if you came face to face with a person you’ve always wanted to meet – living or passed? Who is that person and what would you say?

I’ve always wanted to meet… nope, no one. Other than some actors, I’m really okay with not having met anyone. I’m not really sure what it is I’ve converse with them about. There aren’t really any people I have a good reason to seek out. I guess if we’re pushing for an answer, I’d like to meet would be Stewart O’Nan (I’ve already met and had lunch with him, is that cheating?) and then really, pick his brain about writing and how he thinks.

No wait, got it. Keith Law. He really got me started on baseball statistics and looking into the meaning of data and statistics in the world, not just baseball. I’d talk about baseball with him, which is possible, I just have to go to a minor league game, which he does announce ever he’ll be at every so often. I admire his opinion and his work.

8. Describe your motivations in blogging and how they have changed – if at all.

I think I’ve described this in the past, but it started because I was told that I needed a platform for becoming author. Then it sort of became a way for me to talk about the concepts in reading and writing that I couldn’t with my friends. Or that my brother had grown tired of. Now, it also represents a way for me to stay on task and a weekly goal, because keeping a scheduling and maintaining goals is important.

9. Do you consider yourself an introvert or an extrovert? What makes you so?

Good question. I’ve taken several psychology classes and I probably still couldn’t tell you. I know enough to think that I’m an introvert, because I prefer to keep things small and quiet. I’m not exactly out going but I’ve been told I can be when I want to be, so I’m not sure if that’s just a habit of irritation that creates this personality shift or if I’m actually an introvert.

10. What’s your favorite weather condition?

Rainy. I love rainy days, more than snow or foggy.

Nominees:

1. 50,000 Stitches: She hasn’t written anything in a while but she actually inspired me to seriously consider blogging about writing, even though she stitches for fun.

2. HowIBeattheOdds: For nominating me and for being an engaged reader.

3. AudreyKalman: A Six-Fold connection here. A fellow writer who came up solidly in the middle of pack. Trying to figure out what people want to read is the hard part, but know what stories we want to tell is easier. So, for the encouragement of acknowledging a fellow struggler.

4. Random Acts of Writing: For putting into words much more succinctly things that I wonder about all the time.

5. Orthodoxmom3: Just found her, through creating this post actually. I enjoy the brevity and honesty captured in her choice words. She brings a sense of reality to her posts that isn’t usually found. I think the most apt comparison would be, it’s like listening to someone just…. talk. Online, that’s refreshing, when everyone is trying for witty or glib.

Questions:

01. How lit the fire for your writing? When did your passion for the written word start?

02. Do you listen to music when you write? If you do, do you play a playlist or just one song on repeat?

03. What’s your favorite place in the world? That magical place that you always feel at home in and dream about when you haven’t visited in years?

04. If you could only watch 5 movies for the rest of your life, what movies would they be? Care, not favorites. What movies do you think you could watch forever?

05. Name a moment in your life that was out of a Hollywood movie. Action moment, romantic.

06. What was the last dream you remember?

07. What fictional character would you like to pick the brain of, if you could meet them?

08. What book are you most looking forward to reading in the next year?

09. What’s something you really love doing and occasionally think you could have made it a living but realized if you did, you’d hate it forever?

10. What animal would you love to keep as a pet, no matter if it’s extinct or not really a pet type of creature?

Well, that’s that. I don’t have that many blogs I follow that match the low word count, so, I tried to keep the follow counts low. It’s not that I wouldn’t read more, but I feel that part of this is prioritizing my time. I can’t read everything every day, even if I wanted to. I hope there are some interesting answers out there. I’ll post mine at some point soon for my own questions.

