Tags

, , , , ,

Motivating myself to write doesn’t seem to generally be a problem. Situations that inspire words always draw my attention. I read everything that is available to me, even without considering the matter.

Stewart O’Nan once told me that in his experience, writers read everything they can get their hands on. Doesn’t matter what it is. The back of a ketchup bottle at a restaurant or a book.

I want to push myself this year. My goal this year is to write the rough drafts for the remaining books in the Dark Masters series. If the average book length is 150,000 words, that’s roughly 450,000 words. In essence, those numbers break down to approximately 38,000 words a month or just over 1250 words daily. The standard set for NaNoWriMo is 50,000 & I’ve only ever achieved it once.

On the other hand, it’s not like I haven’t been working on those novels, so there some written for them. Not much. But, they are first drafts, as I must tell myself, so writing them isn’t about the editing or revising. Just getting the plot on page to let the wrinkles sink in for a year or so down the road.

And, none of this is including writing for this blog or the work for editing book one or short stories for publication. Last year, I averaged about 550 words a day for six months, and that was with the addition of this blog, so not exactly as much creative juice going as I had planned. To this end, I hope that some public humiliation-I mean, motivation, will do that trick. On the right hand side, you’ll now notice word counts for each book.

Obviously, 150,000 words is just an estimate. As the story’s spool themselves, they could easily be shorter or longer. But that count seems reasonable based on the counts for the first two books. 117,000 and 135,000 respectively for books one and two. Also a little cushion. But, let’s not really admit to that otherwise, we’re definitely setting up for failure.

On another note, I’m working my way closer to 10,000 hours. Not sure where I am but my closest guess is 5650, since I started working in 2004. That’s not really a lot, all things considered. But, I’m tracking how many hours I write this year, kind of…

Word counts provided by: Critique Circle’s Word Meter Builder.

Here we go, outrageous goals.

