Tags

, ,

I missed last week. My apologies. In my defense, I spent most of that time getting acclimated to a new job and finalizing revisions on the Tears of the Phoenix. I rewrote three chapters from scratch, totaling over 10K words, so maybe the sacrifice was worth it. Though, I felt the pull of just letting this start to slide with minor excuses. But I didn’t and so, here I am again.

With November fast approaching, National Novel Writing Month approaches. I mentioned that in my last post, because I feel that NaNoWriMo represents an important faction of culture, driving people to write, who might otherwise stay silent. I’ve only ever succeeded once. More often, I fall short. One year, I thought the goal was only 40K and so aimed for that. The good news is I reached 40K, the bad news is I failed NaNoWriMo.

So, actually, getting back on track, I think it gets easier every time. The word count, I mean. Each time I learn something about letting the ideas out and not worrying about the grammar or punctuation. On the down side, my English teachers should all be rolling in their graves (though I’m sure none of them are actually dead). There’s a steep trade off, one that I hardly notice anymore. The cost of immediately putting ideas to paper is the loss of proper technique. Not that I ever had much skill for that sort of thing. I think my grammar on this blog is proof enough of that.

Still… there’s something admirable about pounding ones head against the brick wall until either you break or the wall does. And, the adrenaline rush is outstanding.

Mostly though, my thoughts on the approach have changed. In the past, I focus on trying to write or edit my previously existing work. Something from the Dark Masters. One year, I tried to work on a separate novel “Along the Watchtower,” in 2011. That year, I wrote 19,000 words in about 10 days. That’s a nice pace if you want to break 50K by about 7+ thousand. This year, I’ll be doing the same. A novel idea that probably won’t get serious progress until the Dark Masters have all been completely drafted (and that’s a story for another time).

Morpheus Rising.

What if dreams weren’t just random figments compiled by your brain to defragment your brain and memories while you were asleep? What if, when you dreamed, your dreams were real, in another place? Only when you woke, you could hardly remember them?

For three friends from around the world, this is their life. When they dream, they are whisked across the world, where they will spend days and months living with another family, with different cultures, and best friends, only to forget it all happened when they wake.

This is their story, from their childhood meets in their dreams, to their quest to prove that their best friends aren’t just in their dreams.

Okay, that’s what I got. A new story, set in our world, where dreams are another life you’ve connected with. If the plan sounds a little vague, it’s because I’m still trying to find the words for it all. I know the characters and the beats, sort of. But, then, that’s what writings actually for. Who knows what I’ll discover? The name helps, I think. The King of Dreams.

Anyway, if you’re curious I can be found as ausuranstein on NaNoWriMo’s if you’re curious. Hope to see some of you there.

