Tags

, , , , , , ,

Huh, another really late night update. I’m starting to think that Friday night’s aren’t really a good time to be doing this. I may have to reconsider the Friday night updates for now. But I’m not sure yet.

Anyway, writing by itself is easy. I didn’t always know that. By writing I don’t mean trying to find the perfect word. That’s editing. Writing is sitting in front of a computer or a sheet of paper and letting the ideas flow out. The process isn’t exact and sometimes knowing what to write is hard. The ideas can be clunky and lots of times, I go back and don’t have any idea what I’ve written or why.

Still, as I was sitting at my computer tonight, trying to find the proper words and organization for a chapter I’m editing, I realized that somehow I’d surpassed my expectations for the daily writing limit (normally 500) and had arrived 850 (without including this post or having the inclination to stop). There’s a different world when which I feel when I’m writing. A world where time doesn’t flow quite the way I expect it to and any and all words count.

I think the first time I ever really thought about writing in those terms, I was reading a post on the now defunct (though you should still read it anyway) Applegeeks webpage (also, the post seems to have gone missing as well). Ananth, the writer of the web comic, was discussing writing for something called NaNoWriMo. I think this must have been 2004, because this was my first year in college. Anyway, he discussed the idea of trying to just put words on paper and come back to the idea later, with a fresh perspective. The idea is just write. No self editing, no stoppers. Pour out 50,000 words in one month. And that’s how that started.

I’ve only succeeded once, in full disclosure. But I try. The last time I tried was 2010, where I realized that it was possible but I had to stop at 20,000 words in 10 days due to the writing process interfering with my schoolwork. But hey, this time, I have a job and no responsibilities outside of that. I’m thinking I’ll use the time to start writing the first drafts of books 3-5 and then let those simmer for a few years.

So, writing is easy. Don’t forget that part.

