Tags

, , ,

So, here we are. As I write this, a post on neither normally scheduled day, I have approached day 45 of my deadline. This means, the Tears of the Phoenix should have been ready to send to an editor. I say… SHOULD. Unfortunately, it’s not. A lot of that has to do with running away to a convention (Otakon 2013) for a weekend. And I don’t think I’ll ever quite get over seeing fat, hairy, cross dressing Misty’s scratch themselves repeatedly every year. That means, I’ve extended my deadline. I’m giving myself till the end of the month.

Some of this I expected. When diving into something of this magnitude, I knew that 45 days would never be a hard limit. I expected that issues would crop up. And they have. Weaknesses in the hook, and honestly, the simple time it takes to sit and hunt down every “To Be” verb, correcting them. So, that’s where we are. Polishing.

I suppose an argument could be made to submit and still continue fine tuning afterwards, but that’s kind of counter productive. Think about it. I’m only editing chapters 1-3 during this whole ordeal. That means I’ve got 17 more to refine. I’m going to need the submission time and rejection time to fix those. One of the thoughts that scares me (When my ego gets slightly out of hand) is my first submission to an editor will, in fact, be accepted. I think the technical term is  @#%@^*&!! Because I don’t think I’ll be anywhere near finished. Especially if three chapters took me 60 days. Oh well, maybe I’ll get better at the whole thing.

