Tags

, , ,

This is going to be short. Unfortunately.

Info Dump: Honestly, I don’t know. I stopped reading after the first chapter. Is that a problem? I don’t think so. If a book can’t hold me attention for longer than the first chapter, it’s either not very good, not my style or meant for me, or a combination.

Key Players: There was something about a city?

Ebb and Flow: This book was impossible for me to get into. The pacing and flow is choppy. The word structure is probably meant to be cleaver, but instead I found it confusing and uninspiring. By the end of the first chapter, I wasn’t even sure what the point of the story was, not even where we were supposed to head.

Spine Shivering: n/a

Recommendation: I can’t recommend this. Some others may enjoy it, but I couldn’t. A teacher I had once said there are too many good books to force ourselves to read the bad ones. This is a bad one. At least for me. I’m not the target audience and, even if I were, I can’t say it’s well written. There are writers that, no matter your opinion on their work, a reader can tell if they are a good writer or not. Harry Potter hid many of it’s technical flaws behind great story telling. If Nobody Speaks, I’m sorry to say, does not.

This book is a must avoid.

Next Time: Well, seeing as that didn’t go very well, I don’t know what to say. Next week, I’m going to review one of my favorite books of all time, The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger. I would review the actual book I’m reading, but since that’s Baseball Between the Numbers, by Baseball Prospectus, I’m not really sure anyone cares or that it’s a book that anyone can really review.

Short version: In depth look at the the numbers and stats that really make up baseball and trying to understand why. In other words, the book doesn’t need selling. If you’re a stat’s person, you’ll read it. If not, then you don’t really care. I can’t see any middle ground. Feel free to tell me if I’m  wrong.

